Gluten-free Oat Flour; how my diet has taken a step-back 25 years.

I was diagnosed with Coeliac Disease when I was 14 years old.  At the time, buying Free-From groceries was unheard of and my mum would have to search the supermarkets for the crossed grain symbol which appeared on tins of Heinz Baked Beans and soup.  My prescription food was pretty disgusting; the bread tasted like powder as did the spaghetti and digestive biscuits.

Over the past twenty years, huge leaps have been made in providing gluten-free alternatives to my former favourite foods – M&S cocktail sausages being right at the top!  This was until supermarkets started adding gluten-free oat flour to biscuits.  I had a period where I could tolerate these gluten-free porridge oats but slowly but surely I began vomiting.  I had no idea they were to be included in the ‘new’ recipes which have spread throughout Sainsburys, Tesco and M&S and the first I knew about it was an evening spent being ill.

I’ve searched the internet to try and find a logical reason for the addition of this ingredient to already great tasting products and the only conclusion I can draw is that it’s possibly a cheaper ingredient to use.  If anyone out there has the answer please do let me know.

A recent visit to my GP surgery led me to discover that gluten-free prescriptions are possibly coming to and end due to the ‘good’ quality, availability, convenience and cost of supermarket gluten-free products.  To say I’m worried is an understatement.  Juvela white sliced bread is the only remotely normal bread I’ve tasted and the thought of eating the clumps of powdery dough bread from the supermarket makes me wonder if I should eat gluten-free flour straight from the bag.  What if they begin to include oat flour in the bread, the pasta etc?  My diet is slowly shrinking and I’m beginning to worry about eating out in case the gluten-free meal is no longer gluten-free for me.

On the up side, losing a bit of weight shouldn’t be a problem for me now.

 

Leave a Reply

